Monday, February 26, 2024
HomeKathy GyngellWe salute the lockdown rebels – but the rest should be ashamed

We salute the lockdown rebels – but the rest should be ashamed


DEPRESSINGLY, but not surprisingly, the majority of Tory MPs proved themselves to be no more than the voting fodder they are as they dutifully filed through the Government lobby last night.

Once again an over-hyped Tory rebellion collapsed, MPs apparently all too easily bought off by Prime Ministerial promises not worth the sweetie paper they were wrapped in.

And yes, it was the same group of 55 ‘Spartans’ who stuck to their guns and were not gulled or bought off. We salute them. They alone, with their few colleagues from the other benches, totalling just 73 out of the 650 MPs, deserve to keep their seats at the next election.  Here they are: 


Steve Baker (Teller)

Robert Syms (Teller)

Adam Afriyie

Imran Khan

Graham Brady

Andrew Bridgen

Paul Bristow

Christopher Chope

Greg Clark

James Daly

Philip Davies

David Davis

Jonathan Djanogly

Jackie Doyle-Price

Richard Drax

Iain Duncan Smith

Mark Francois

Marcus Fysh

Cheryl Gillan

Chris Green

Damian Green

Kate Griffiths

Mark Harper

Philip Hollobone

David Jones

Julian Knight

Robert Largan

Pauline Latham

Chris Loder

Tim Loughton

Craig Mackinlay

Anthony Mangnall

Karl McCartney

Stephen McPartland

Esther McVey

Huw Merriman

Robbie Moore

Anne Marie Morris

Robert Neill

Mark Pawsey

John Redwood

Mary Robinson

Andrew Rosindell

Henry Smith

Ben Spencer

Desmond Swayne

Craig Tracey

Tom Tugendhat

Matt Vickers

Christian Wakeford

Charles Walker

Jamie Wallis

David Warburton

William Wragg

Jeremy Wright


Gregory Campbell

Jeffrey Donaldson

Paul Girvan

Carla Lockhart

Ian Paisley

Gavin Robinson

Jim Shannon

Sammy Wilson

Labour’s rebels show how shamefully few have any care for the working classes at all as one business closure follows another, ever more redundancies are announced, the unemployment queue grows – all because of lockdown. Here the few from their ranks who proved able to think for themselves. Well done to:

Apsana Begum

Richard Burgon

Mary Kelly Foy

Andrew Gwynne

Mike Hill

Kevan Jones

Emma Lewell-Buck

Ian Mearns

Grahame Morris

Kate Osborne

Bell Ribeiro-Addy

John Spellar

Graham Stringer

Zarah Sultana

Derek Twigg

Joining the Tory rebel camp in the noes lobby in a what must be a first in his political career was ‘independent’ MP Jeremy Corbyn. Julian Lewis, the independent MP for New Forest East and chair of the Intelligence and Security Committee also voted no. 

So in the end just 55 Tories had the principle and guts to stand up to the insane and destructive lockdown policy their bloviating leader is addicted to. They must really be starting to wonder whether the Conservative Party is their party any more, let alone a party anyone in their right mind could ever vote for after the last six months. How the rest do not see that this no longer a health crisis but an economic catastrophe beggars belief. 

We are now to suffer months of rules that will kill off any chances of recovery; draconian Tier 3 rules applying to large chunks of the country while cruel, intrusive and unnecessary micro-management of our social interactions still applies everywhere else. As Daniel Miller argued yesterday on these pages, there is nothing that is scientific or rational – and certainly not moral – about this obsessive policy, and overwhelming evidence is now stacked up against it.

The 580 MPs who have just enabled this continued destruction of British lives and livelihoods, a decision that will drag us back into the worst of the 1970s or worse, have a lot to answer for. Jesse Norman, Danny Kruger, Michael Gove, Priti Patel, Dominic Raab, Jeremy Hunt, Johnnie Mercer, Liz Truss, Andrea Leadsom, Theresa May, Greg Hands, Liam Fox – the list goes on. How could you? 

Be it on your conscience how you voted last night. 

If you appreciated this article, perhaps you might consider making a donation to The Conservative Woman. Unlike most other websites, we receive no independent funding. Our editors are unpaid and work entirely voluntarily as do the majority of our contributors but there are inevitable costs associated with running a website. We depend on our readers to help us, either with regular or one-off payments. You can donate here. Thank you.
If you have not already signed up to a daily email alert of new articles please do so. It is here and free! Thank you.

Kathy Gyngell
Kathy Gyngell
Kathy is Editor of The Conservative Woman. She is @KathyConWom on GETTR and is back on Twitter.

Sign up for TCW Daily

Each morning we send The ConWom Daily with links to our latest news. This is a free service and we will never share your details.